A Note About Work

Standard

So some of you might be wondering why I haven’t mentioned my work in any of my posts! I work for the organization Christian Rural Aid Network (CRAN) at their Kiva desk. During my first week, I learned how to process new loan requests and submit them to Kiva. Despite the constant Internet and power outages, it was a pretty good week and I was getting into the swing of things.

My second week was a bit bumpier. CRAN’s head office consisted of a series of rented offices in a building owned by an insurance company. The offices were super cramped and I had to share a desk. When I first arrived, I was told that CRAN had acquired a new building and that we would be moving maybe in the next few months. Well, it wasn’t in a few months, but a few days. Last Monday, I was told that the movers might be coming the next day (which I had off for a religious holiday). So Wednesday morning, I went to work and discovered entirely empty rooms! All my coworkers were excited and we headed out to go to the new building. When we arrived at the beautiful orange and white building, we noticed a couple of problems. First, all of the furniture was sitting outside. Secondly, there was no power or running water. The workmen had not finished our new building and the desks needed to be sanded before they were brought in. So my co-workers and I started organizing some files and went home around noon.

I haven’t worked since then. I stopped by work the next day and found the conditions to be the same. They told me to try on Monday and have a nice long weekend. Today I went to work and the building is almost finished. However, the computer network was not set up and I was not able to complete any work. After gossiping with two of my coworkers, playing spider solitaire, and briefly falling asleep, I just went home. Everyone said that the network should be set up tomorrow, but I’m not holding my breath. It is Ghana after all, and things can’t be rushed here!

Because of my project difficulties, I might be working on an internal project with ProWorld. They are partnering with CRAN and a small village west of Cape Coast to develop an agro-processing facility. I’m going to be doing some research on this and figuring out the logistics. I’m very excited about this and it will help give me something extra to do with all the recent down time I have.

Once everything settles down at work, I’ll give a more in-depth description of what I’m working on!

Leave a Reply

